Rosacea: An Introduction

Proposed Types

The National Rosacea Society have proposed four main types of rosacea:

Forms of rosacea so far ignored by the National Rosacea Society, but of equal importance, are:

  • granulomatous
  • conglobata
  • rosacea inversa (formerly known as pyoderma faciale)
  • edematous rosacea

Combinations of the above are possible.

Other variants of rosacea may include:

  • seborrheic dermatitis
  • lupus erythematosus
  • acne vulgaris (see the section on acne rosacea for a brief related discussion)

There are other possible variants, but these are the main ones.

Clearly, institutionalizing just 4 subtypes of rosacea for the purposes of clarifying diagnosis is negligent.

The classification of rosacea into stages is a like case of over-simplification of an inherently complex skin disease.

Copyright 2004-2013. Derm.Net.Au. All Rights Reserved.